A Brief Overview Of The Seven Chakras

by Conscious Reminder

Yoga is one of those eternally old things from an ancient civilisation that the Occidental world has borrowed and made its own. It is a system of healing that is, like the Chinese acupuncture, designed to make a spiritual from of ethereal energy flow through certain pre-defined points in the body.

In yoga, these are called chakras, named after Sudarshana, the discus of the God Vishnu. It symbolises order and the cyclical nature of time, creation, destruction, death and birth.

These chakras hence stand for the harmony of the body.

The aim of yoga is to make the primal serpent kundalini, who resides as a thread of energy inside your spine, move upwards towards your pineal gland, through a series of poses combined with breathing exercises.

The 7 points along the route, which the serpent passes are the chakras. As it passes, it activates them, making the body a tad bit healthier and younger, along with reinvigorating it and reenergising it.

Here are the 7 chakras, starting from the first one to the last, along the path of the kundalini serpent.

1. Root (Mooladhar chakra)

This is the base of the spine, the coccyx. This is the root and origin of the path. It is the centre of sexual energy. The president god here is Ganesh, the elephant-headed god of fecundity and prosperity.

2. Sacral (Swadhisthan chakra)

In your belly. This is presided over by the creator god Brahma and is said to be the centre of productive energy, especially scholarly ad artistic.

3. Solar (Manipurak chakra)

This is the centre of your perception, the centre through which you connect to the universe and feel its vibrations. This is responsible for your resonance with the universe. The presiding deity here is Vishnu, the supreme lord of all and the one who incarnates to save the Earth again and again.

4. Heart (Anahata chakra)

Site of the soul and the centre of all emotion. This is the seat of the only deity even Vishnu worships: Shiva. He and Vishnu are one and the same, but manifest differently because of their different roles in the universe.

5. Throat (Visuddha chakra)

Communication. This is the seat of your jeev-atma, or the soul you derived from your soul’s union with matter. This is life a spiritual fingerprint, unique to all.

6. Pineal (Agna chakra)

The presiding deity is your own spiritual teacher. This is the seat of all prophecy.

7. Crown (Sahasrar chakra)

Presiding deity is the param-atma, the supreme world spirit of which Vishnu and Shiva are part. This is the ultimate goal of every soul and here, kundalini.


∼If you like our article, give Conscious Reminder a thumbs up, and help us spread LOVE & LIGHT!∼

The post A Brief Overview Of The Seven Chakras  appeared first on Conscious Reminder.